The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

41gum-hafhl-_sx334_bo1204203200_“I have hated words and I have loved them, and I hope I have made them right.”

I was utterly captivated by this book. It took me a while to read, and I’m normally a pretty fast reader, but this book is not for those looking for a light, easy-to-read book. There’s some pretty heavy stuff in there so I had to read a bit slower than I usually would to make sure I was catching and absorbing everything so I wouldn’t miss something later on in the book.

I think everyone should read this book, especially those who are interested in the WWII era. I’ve read books from a soldier or a woman’s point of view (in America) but never one from a girl as young as Liesel. She was a very interesting character. Her story was so heartbreaking, and it’s sad knowing that while her story may have applied to a few children in the middle of WWII, many were not so lucky. It was interesting, going through things through her head. I wanted to laugh and cry all at the same time and just could not seem to put it down.

However, as I mentioned above, the book contains some pretty heavy stuff. If you’re even the slightest bit familiar with WWII and the persecution in Germany, then what is mentioned in the book should not be a surprise to you. But even if it’s not a surprise to you, it’s not easy to read about such violence. The violence isn’t graphic, but it is still pretty hard to read so if you’re sensitive to such things I would steer clear or read with a wary eye.

A couple things I wanted to stick in here is that from like 100-150, the book dragged a bit, and I found that I skimmed more during this section of the book than I actually read. And while this part didn’t really bother me, there is a bit of touchy language so if a couple cuss words bother you, then it might hinder your enjoyment of the book.

I really enjoyed this book and will probably read it again, and hope that you all will read and enjoy the book as well.

*I also want to add this: I have also seen the movie and it is almost exactly like the book. Of course, some parts of the book were omitted from the movie, but overall the movie was spot on to the book.

Leave a Reply

