With Every Letter by Sarah Sundin

13459177“Be friendly and open, but stay true to how God made you. Delight in your differences while reaching out to others.”

~*Minor spoilers to follow.*~

I cannot even tell you how much I enjoyed this book. I was immediately drawn into the story from the first page I read. Every free moment I had, I was reading this book. I’ve never read anything like this before; the storyline is so unique, the characters are wonderfully depicted, the settings are perfect. As I read this, I found myself wanting to scream at the characters, which doesn’t happen very often but I love it when it does.

I adored Mellie. As a quiet and shy person myself, I could completely relate to her. That’s something I love when I read books. I understood her anxieties, her solitude, and her distress at having to come out of her shell. Throughout the entire book, I was thinking how similar we were in character and thought. One quote I loved was not a quote, but more of a statement, and one that is very true and real for me… “Overcoming shyness was hard work.” How true it is.

I loved Tom, as well. He reminded me a bit of Steve Rodgers, better known as Captain America. It made me think of Steve when I read something Tom said: “Fear as a means of control? ‘That’s not the kind of man I am, sir.'” It made me think of in the second Captain America movie when he said this: “Yeah, we compromised. Sometimes in ways that made us not sleep so well. But we did it so that people could be free. This isn’t freedom. This is fear.” I’m getting off track, but it was just something I enjoyed.

Because this is a wartime novel from the point of view of nurses and soldiers, there is a little bit of violence and wounds, but for the most part, they are pretty undescriptive.

As much as we fantasize about the World War II era (the clothes, the music, the movies) I liked having this fresh bit of realism. For the men and women who fought and nursed on the frontlines of war, I’m sure the last thing they thought of was when the next Fred Astaire movie was going to be released. But despite these hardships, Sundin weaved together a realistic but humorous story that I will go back and reread.

To learn more about women and their roles during the war, check out this link from the National WWII Museum (opens in a new window).

If you’re interested in this book, as of this review it is free on Amazon Kindle. Click here to be taken to the book (opens in a new window).

Leave a Reply

