The Pursuit of Lucy Banning by Olivia Newport

cover-lucy-banningI share a lot of good reviews on my blog, so today I wanted to share with you a book I didn’t enjoy as much. Writing more negative reviews is hard for me because I very rarely read an entire book I don’t like, and I don’t enjoy being critical of books. But at the same time, I think it’s good to have a mix of reviews for all books, not just the good ones.  So without further ado, here is my review.

I was initially very excited to read this book. Mostly because the cover is gorgeous, and I’m a sucker for pretty book covers. You don’t know how badly I wanted to like this book; the plot summary seemed decent enough, the cover was gorgeous, and my friends gave it 4 or 5-star reviews. But unfortunately, this book had so many elements that I felt were underdeveloped, it felt like I was reading a draft. Which is so sad, because I know I would have liked this book so much more if it had been fine-tuned maybe once or twice more.

I did enjoy the historical setting, and the research put into it. I felt like I learned a lot about different social classes while reading this, and it gave be a bit of a Downton Abbey feel. However, there is such a thing as too much of something good, and that is the case here. Because there was so much historical knowledge that the author shares with us, I would have enjoyed learning about the setting before diving into the book.

The character development could have been better. Lucy had all the qualities of being a great heroine, but, unfortunately, falls short because there is little to no development with her. She’s a goody-two-shoes, which in some cases isn’t awful (because that usually comes with faults), but she’s just too good to be true. As for her suitors, it pretty obvious who was going to win her heart, as Newport made one of them about as awful as a character could get.

There were so many things going on, and I think if maybe Newport had focused on just one other event apart from the main plot, the book would have flowed and ended a lot cleaner. Instead, there were about four other subplots that took away from the enjoyment.

Conclusion – All in all, it was an average fluff reading that I read in a few days, but you could read it in two. I was very disappointed, and assumed it would be excellent because I will admit; I was drawn first to the cover. But don’t let my review scare you away! My opinion is not popular, and if you enjoy quick reads, you’ll probably enjoy this.

If you enjoy this period of history, here is a Wikipedia link that gives some information on this period in history. It may not be completely trustworthy, but it is a quick link with some info.

Leave a Reply

