The Butterfly and the Violin by Kristy Cambron

butterfly-and-violin“And as God is everywhere, she couldn’t live but to carry Him in her heart, with the worship of daily life, using the gift of every second bestowed upon her to bring honor and glory to her Savior.”

If you enjoyed reading The Book Theif, you’ll probably enjoy this book too. While I do enjoy 18th-century fiction (and non-fiction!), I love World War II fiction as well. This book was not as light and fluffy as some of the others I’ve read, which I’ve found I’m growing out of my fluffy and fun stage and into more thought-provoking or more serious books, such as this one. But I still think it will be enjoyed by anyone of any age. In fact, my grandmother got this book for Christmas and I stole it from her after she read it. Oops.

Very quickly, I’d like to comment on the title and the cover. I love titles that are part of the story; ones that as you read you say to yourself “Oh! So that’s where this came from!” And the cover is one of my favorites I’ve seen. It looks a little vintage, which I think is interesting because many books have bright, eye-catching covers, while this one is obviously a bit more subdued, but eye-catching for that very reason.

First off, this is not a typical historical fiction book. Ms. Cambron switches between our present day with the horrors of Hitler’s reign, yet it never feels too confusing and the horrors of Auschwitz too difficult to read. While I did prefer reading about Adele, the stories of the two young women weave and connect together very nicely. The writing style is so beautiful, I was very surprised when I found out that this was Cambron’s first novel.

The story itself is based on a young woman Adele Von Bron, an exceptional violinist from a prominent Austrian household who is sent to play her violin for Nazi soldiers at Auschwitz along with other musicians. Sera James is a Manhatten art dealer who becomes intrigued by a painting of a young violinist (Hint: It’s Adele) and begins to research the painting to find out what her story turned out to be.

Adele’s story was so incredible and inspiring. Again, this is Adele’s story, as we see what becomes of her through the eyes of Sera. There isn’t much I can say on Adele’s story that won’t give too much away, but what I can say is that Adele is a character that many of us will probably be able to relate too; at least I did. Though it is very unlikely none of us will face the horrors of Nazi concentration camps, we can all take care to be brave and caring like her. My favorite part was that her bravery didn’t mean she wasn’t scared, but rather she had the courage to stand up and face her fears.

Sera’s story was one that surprised me – mostly because I was surprised that I enjoyed it as much as I did! As with Adele, there isn’t too much I can say about Sera that won’t give much away, since Sera’s story is so close to Adele’s. But I will say that this modern day storyline was enjoyable, too for those who prefer modern over historical fiction.

I absolutely and thoroughly enjoyed this book. I was swept off my feet at the subtle sweetness and careful handle of such a dark subject. Whether you enjoy contemporary or historical fiction, I think you will really love this book and the different look you’ll receive about Auschwitz and Nazi Germany.

***This book is currently available on Amazon Kindle for only $1.99! Get it here!

Leave a Reply

