A Distant Melody by Sarah Sundin

51oonhzgjzl“When we’re not following God’s will, our sacrifices aren’t acceptable to Him. What God wants most is for us to be broken before Him, walk with Him, know Him, and obey Him.”

A Distant Melody the first book I’ve read of Ms. Sundin’s, and it has become a favorite of mine. As Ms. Sundins debut novel, she made a good impression on other readers and me. I didn’t want to put it down; my eyes were glued to the page. I picked this up during my period of fascination with the 40’s-50’s (which has yet to subside), and this book has all the elements I enjoy in a book, plus it reminds me a bit of The Notebook.

I loved the dual point of view we get from both Allie and Walt. When I read books that sometimes have that, I find myself skimming or even skipping parts because they bore me. These didn’t. I got to see what life was like for people on the homefront, waiting for their soldiers to come home, and also what life was life for the soldiers on the frontlines of war.

Historically, I loved the research that was put into the setting and combat scenes. I love when I learn stuff from books, and though this book is obviously not meant for the purpose of learning, I feel like I learned some things from this book, at least from the view of the soldiers.

I love how Sundin includes the tragedies and hardships of the war. Of course, it was not all blood and gore, but you do lose characters. It’s not fun, but it’s real, and that is the most important to me; that tragedy is not watered down, just handled a little bit more carefully.

All in all, I really enjoyed reading this book. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone looking for a light, but a fun read, especially if you are interested in the World War 2 era.

This article from History.com has a wonderful brief explanation of the American Home Front, which you can read by clicking here.

Leave a Reply

