Where Courage Calls by Janette Oke

9780764212314“A sense of humor is a requisite to surviving in our demanding world.”

Unlike other times where I usually have something to say before moving onto the review, this time I can’t think of anything to say so I’m going to jump right in and get started.

First off, if you are looking for a book that follows the movie or TV show storyline, this book is not for you. At least, that is what I’ve seen on other reviews. I know this review isn’t about the movie/TV show but because this book is supposed to be a companion to the Hallmark series, When Calls the Heart, I felt it was important for the TV watchers to know that the book series does not follow the TV show. Which in a way, I suppose is not a bad thing because then you are able to have two different storylines and can choose to your liking.

Historically, there was not a whole lot of background that I can remember. Which was totally fine. Based on the cover, you can guess that it’s around the early 1900’s, and the book describes as much. There are no inaccuracies as far as I could tell in my little knowledge of that time period, but the same can’t be said of the TV show. It’s little things, but the little things bother me the most. I won’t get into it because it doesn’t claim to be a historical show (you can go watch Downton Abbey for that), but it still bothers me because so much of the show is already based in the early 1900’s, but no matter. It’s just my detail oriented brain being nit-picky as always.

I really enjoyed reading about Beth… She is different than other heroines in novels I’ve read, and I can relate to her fears and her wanting to become more independent and wish for more out of life, and she actually reminds me a bit of Belle from Beauty and the Beast. The book basically just takes us through her adjusting from her high-life to a more simple way of living. The characters are very well rounded and realistic, even the minor characters.

I would describe the plot line as “soft”. There’s not page turning action or anything like that. It basically just describes Beth’s adjustment to living on the prairie. And that is pretty much it!

I hope you’ve enjoyed this review, and I’ll see you next week!

Leave a Reply

